The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards has been established for over 90 years and has grown to be the longest-running, most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in the U.S. In addition, it is also the largest source of scholarships for young artists and writers. Since its founding, the Awards has identified the early promise of some of our nation’s most exceptional visionaries such as Andy Warhol, Philip Pearlstein, and Cy Twombly; writers Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Ned Vizzini, and Joyce Carol Oates; photographer Richard Avedon; actors Frances Farmer, Robert Redford, Alan Arkin, and John Lithgow; filmmakers Stan Brakhage and Ken Burn.

The Regional Scholastic Arts Contest is sponsored by Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University, and Rockford High School proudly has several students receiving awards for their artistic talents.

Honorable Mentions:
Sami Anderson (Jewelry)
Ethan Burke (Design, and Drawing & Illustration)
Mackenzie Foley (Ceramics & Glass)
Zack Miller (Architecture & Design)
Amanda Perkins (Painting)
Natalie Vezina (Ceramics & Glass)
Andrea Werkema (Painting)

Silver Key Awards:
Drew Kinsey (Design)
Jocelyn Supanich (Ceramics & Glass)
Riley Wetzel (Art Portfolio)

Gold Key Awards:
Sarah Kuhnhart (Art Portfolio)
Madelyn Long (Design)
Marissa Napieralski (Ceramics & Glass)

The awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, February 29, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. at Fountain Street Church, 24 Fountain Street Northeast, Grand Rapids, MI 49503.  An awards reception will follow immediately at Kendall College of Art and Design.

Gold Key recipients will advance to the National Scholastic Arts Competition in New York.














(Left to right) Natalie Vezina; Sarah Kuhnhart; Mackenzie Foley; and Amber Wineland










Regional Scholastic Art Award Recipients (left to right):  Riley Wetzel; Andrea Werkema; Marissa Napieralski; Drew Kinsey; Ethan Burke; Zack Miller; Sami Anderson; Jocelyn Supanich; Madelyn Long; and Amanda Perkins