Art students from Rockford will be recognized at Kendall College of Art and Design as Regional winners in the prestigious Scholastic Art Awards competition on March 2, 2019.  The ceremony will be held at Fountain Street Church at 3:00 pm.

Gold Key awards will be awarded to Holly Bertke for Photography; Heather Buck for 4 Drawings and Illustrations; Isadora Cass for Mixed Media and 3 Drawings; and Liam Shine for Drawing and Illustration.

Silver Key awards will be awarded to Keely Broderick for Printmaking; Isadora Cass for Film and Animation; Elena Cook for Sculpture; Liam Shine for Drawing and Illustration; and Abigail Wenger for Photography.

Honorable Mention awards will be awarded to Gabriel Basquerizo for Drawing and Illustration; Maria Bosscher for two Ceramic and Glass, and one Digital Art; Alayna Bowman for Painting; Kayla Brangenberg for Painting; Heather Buck for Drawing and Illustration; Isadora Cass for Art Portfolio; Gwen Cook for Mixed Media and Painting; Delaney Emerson for Drawing and Illustration; Ava Hockey for Sculpture; and Andrea Werkema for Jewelry.

Art teachers are Barb Kent, Cyndi Len, Laura Todd, and Christen Woodruff.  Gold Key and Silver Key Awarded work are currently on display at the Kendall College Art Gallery until March 2nd.  Honorable Mention pieces are on display in the RAM Gallery at Rockford High School.

The Scholastic Art Awards are an annual juried competition open to seventh through 12th graders in the United States, Canada, and U.S. territories.  Past recipients of national prizes include actor-director Robert Redford, artist Andy Warhol, and other noteworthy people. This year the work of Holly Bertke, Heather Buck, Isadora Cass, and Liam Shine will be representing Rockford High School in the National Competition held in New York.

PHOTO CAPTION:  Students pictured left to right in the RAM Gallery:  Keely Broderick (seated); Liam Shine; Gabe Bacquerizo; Kayla Brangenberg; Alayna Bowma; Gwen Cook (seated); Elena Cook; Holly Bertke; Delaney Emerson; Heather Buck (seated); and Abigail Wenger.  Missing from photo:  Maria Bosscher; Isadora Cass; Ava Hockey; and Andrea Werkema